Bega Valley Rally to go ahead!

The Bega Valley Rally will once again be using the fast, flowing and highly popular shire roads during this year’s event, to be conducted over the Queen’s Birthday long weekend in June.

The Bega Valley Council has approved the use of four shire roads for the event on Sunday 7 June. These are the ever popular ‘Upper Cobargo’, ‘Coopers Creek’, ‘Buckajo’ and ‘The Snake Track’ special stages, which provide some of the very best of roads for rallying. These will be combined with four forestry special stages in the forests around Eden and Kiah, some 100 kilometres to the south of Bega.

The eight special stages will comprise a total of 145 kilometres, representing 35% of the total event length of 410 kilometres.

Some 80 entries are anticipated and the first of these will start from the centre of Bega at 9am and is expected back to the finish at 6pm. Competitors will traverse the first three shire roads at one minute intervals which will then be expanded to two minute intervals during the first service break, prior to the forestry special stages.

Some course changes have been made to the forestry special stages from the last Bega Valley Rally, conducted in 2007, and an important inclusion is a vast log dump area for servicing, which will not be adversely affected by wet weather. The large area will be used three times during the event.

It is now confirmed that the rally will be a round of:
New South Wales Rally Championship – round two of six rounds
Victorian Rally Championship – round three of six rounds
Race Brakes Sydney NSW Excel Rally Series
Victorian Excel Rally Series
PCD Engineering ACT Regional Rally Series.

The Championships will be conducted over the full course of 145 kilometres, whilst the Series will cover six special stages for a total of 115 kilometres. However, competitors in the Series can nominate to continue to do the full length course, and will be eligible to do so by paying the Championship fee.

Entry fees, set by the New South Wales Rally Panel, will be $550 for the Championship and $355 for the Series.

Regional scrutiny of vehicles and documentation will take place in the week prior to the event, and only limited scrutiny will be carried out in Bega.

Final documentation and rally headquarters will once again be based at the Bega RSL Club.

Senior officials of the event are:
Clerk of Course Tom Snooks
Assistant Clerk of Course (Road) Bill Bennett
CAMS Checker Kam Baker
Rally Control Manager Ken Roddam
Headquarters Manager Kevin Shaw
Chief Scrutineer (Vic Series) Graham Palmer
Competitor Relations Officer (Vic) David Officer
Competitor Relations Officer (NSW) Jo Vettoretti
Officials Coordinator Christine Bethwaite
Safety Officer Bill Bennett

Other appointments are yet to be made.

The medical service (including two FIVs) will be provided by Motorsport Safety Rescue.

Supplementary Regulations will be available by the end of February/early March, with entries opening on 20 April and closing on 29 May.

A Bega Valley Rally Website will be available by the end of February.