VCRS round 3 - George Derrick run & won.

The George Derrick Memorial Trial was run and won on Saturday in and around the picturesque township of Avoca. CCRMIT organised the event which was a round of the VRC and VCRS. A number of HRA members competed in both events and it was great to also see many HRA members performing various roles as officials on various stages throughout the day.

The VRC round was won by Subaru pilots Mark Fawcett and Carrie Morris closely followed by Warren Lee and David Lethlean in a Mitsubishi Evo. First two wheel drive car home was Brian Semmens in his trusty Nissan 200 SX in equal sixth spot followed by Geoff Portman and Ross Runnalls in the Commodore.  First Classic car home was Joe Wilson and HRA member Martin Warneke in the Triumph who had a relatively trouble free run.

The VCRS round was won by the super quick team of Andrew Bell and Ari Paterson in the Nissan Bluebird followed by Simon and Ian Ellis in their Subaru Legacy. It was also great to see Alex Kovarcevic bring the Fiat out for a run and he was rewarded by a well deserved 24th spot. Notable retirements were Michael Trucano who unfortunately rolled his Datsun 120Y at high speed on the fastest stage of the event. And Russell Thorpe and Doug Fernie, who were lucky to escape unscathed after hitting a tree at high speed in Russell's 200B (See pics and seperate story).

Next round of the VCRS is the Begonia Rally to be held on Saturday 15th August in the Wombat State forest. To be run by the BLCC, this event will also be a round of the VRC and promises to be another exciting and enjoyable round of rallying. More information can be obtained on the vicrally website.