Millard Memorial Trial

Once again it is time to dust that rally car from the off season (or hurry up and put it back together!) The annual Millard Memorial Trial is on again and this year will be the fifth running of the event and will once again run in conjunction with the Heywood Wood Wine and Roses Festival.

This year will see the event format change slightly from the previous years but promises to be just as exciting. The event will again start from the Heywood recreation reserve but will now run on Saturday afternoon and night with the first car expected to leave at approx 3pm for 30km in 2 daylight stages on some the area’s best roads, all fully route charted.

Upon completion of these stages teams will return back to the Heywood Recreation Reserve for an interval where they will receive their route instructions and maps for the night stages. The first car will leave at 8.30pm bound for the Annya state forest for approx 100km of navigation which will require a good team effort with accurate navigation and precise driving being the key.

For the spectator and service crews there will be 4 points to cheer your team along, 2 of which will be less than 200m walk from the service point. Supp Regs are expected to be available in the next 2 weeks. As soon as they are approved we will make sure they are available on both the SEAC and HRA websites.

This Year there will be $1000 of prizes on offer for various awards thought the event with 30+ cars expected. Get your entry in quick for a chance to win the perpetual trophy for 1st outright which is a Redgum carving of Graham and Kathleen’s Datsun 1600.

Camping will be available at the Heywood recreation reserve on both Friday and Saturday nights. Limited accommodation is available in Heywood but Portland has plenty of accommodation and is only a 20min drive away. Once again there will be a Khannacross event held at the Rally HQ with teams and service crew invited to have a skid! This will take place from Saturday morning until 2pm approx TBC.

Previous Winners:
2007 Jason Sims Damien Wilson
2008 Paul Heenan Anthony Beare
2009 John Rawson Dave Smith
2010 Kim Barclay Kevin Millard

Kev 0417271552