The evening of 13th April will see the next running of the Victoria Cross Rally by the Historic Rally Association. A Special Stage Rally to be conducted over public and private roads within Mount Disappointment, the traditional home of the Victoria Cross Rally.

In the early 1980’s when today’s classic rally cars were nearly new, this event was a favourite. The April 13 event is the second ‘modern’ running of this much loved rally, in an area that rarely sees a rally car these days.

The Event will run in 2 Divisions with a service break between. Each Division will consist of 45km Competitive and 35km Transport. The start and finish is in Broadford and all competitive stages will be in the Mt Disappointment State Forest.

For the competition minded, it is FULLY ROUTE CHARTED over 10 STAGES, a total of 90km COMPETITIVE

The Event additionally offers the Standard Car Challenge Rally, for vehicles that meeting the Resto Country Spares Standard Car Challenge rules and it will be the same length as the special stage Victoria Cross Rally.

The rally is open to historic rally cars, production rally cars, classic rally cars, club rally cars, standard rally cars (as registered with the HRA Resto Country Spares Standard Car Challenge), R25 rally cars and any other rally car deemed by the Clerk of Course to be in the spirit of historic rallying. Entry is restricted to cars over 25 years old and excludes 4WD turbo cars.

As a closed to club event, Frontal head restraints are recommended but not compulsory.

You will be ‘disappointed’ if you miss this event in an area not often used now for special stage rallies!

  • Spectator instructions will be available here on April 11 and at the start.

Officials are requested to e-mail their availability to the Officials Co-ordinator Joel Wald, at

Further enquiries may be directed to
HRA President: David McKenzie, e:, m: 0407 405 109
HRA Vice President: Joel Wald, e:, m: 0412 352 252

Winners of the 2013 Victoria Cross Rally, Neil Schey and James ElliottBanner image:

Winners of the Victoria Cross in 2013, Neil Schey and James Elliott.  This was the last time the Victoria Cross Rally was held. Pic by John Doutch.